. .


date: 13th Jul 2016

tags: Documentary, Film Festivals, News


Beamafilm are proud to have been sponsors of the Melbourne Documentary Film Festival in its inaugural year. Over the past three days, the Melbourne Documentary Film Festival presented a fantastic variety of documentaries, both short and feature-length. The overall winner of the Supreme Jury Prize was vaping documentary “A Billion Lives.”


The Melbourne Documentary Film Festival, under the direction of Lyndon Stone, is Melbourne’s first home-grown documentary film festival. This year, it took place at funky Brunswick venue the Howler Art Space, where audiences were able to enjoy the many films on offer in a great space with attached bar and restaurant. There was a strong community atmosphere, with filmmakers and fans getting a chance to see powerful movies and network.

Documentaries from Australia and the world showed from 12pm-12am every day from Saturday the 9th to Monday the 11th of June, on topics ranging from environmental and political issues to art and music.

At Monday night’s Award Ceremony, the Supreme Jury Award went to “A Billion Lives”, Aaron Biebert’s eye-opening documentary. In the next century, a billion people will die from smoking-related illness – vaping could save them. So why is vaping being vilified in the media, and banned by governments? This documentary is a growing juggernaut for change, and screened to a packed crowd at the Melbourne Documentary Film Festival on Sunday night.

A Billion Lives

The full list of winners are:

Supreme Jury Award: “A Billion Lives” by Aaron Biebert
Best Director: Aaron Biebert
Best Indigenous Featue or Short: “The Drovers Boy” by Margaret McHugh
Best Music Documentary: “Todd Who?” by Gavin Bond
Best Australian Documentary: “The Coffee Man” by Jeff Hann
Best International Documentary: “Goodnight Brooklyn – The Story of Death by Audio” by Matt Conboy
Best Victorian Feature or Short: “Inside Fighter” by Nick Barkla
Best International Short Documentary: “Waterlilies” by Tanya Doyle
Best Australian Short Documentary: “You Better Take Cover” by Harry Hayes
Best Editing: “Beep: A History of Video Game Sound”
Best Cinematography: “Sustainable”
Best Comedy / Mockumentary: “VIVA LA VINCENT” by Ashleigh Nicolau
Best Art Documentary: “Andre Villers A Lifetime in Images” by Marketa Tomanova
Best Avant Garde / Innovation Award: “Bullied To Death” by Giovanni Coda
Best Health and Environmental Documentary: “Sustainable” by Matt Wechler &”Plastic in My Water” by Allard Faas
Audience Choice: “Spoke” by Em Baker
Wildcard Award: “Coalville Gold” by Ross Bolidai and Weg van de Kerk , “Churchroad” by Allard Faas

Beamafilm  has been proud to be one of the sponsors of this fantastic event, and looks forward to continued cooperation in the coming years. Congratulations to all the award winners, and to Lyndon Stone and the MDFF team for putting together this amazing festival.





Celebrate independent stories, ideas, art, film and voices. Support and share creativity by following Beamafilm:

670 Bourke St, Redfern, NSW 2016 | +61 2 9362 8731 | info@Beamafilm.com | © Beamafilm

Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Help